When did my childhood go?

22 Jul

When did my childhood go?
Was it when I found my mind was really mine,
To use whichever way I choose,
Producing thoughts that were not those of other people,
But my own, and my alone,
Was that the day!

I read this great poem almost 4 years back. I liked it and wrote it on one of my notebooks (an old habit of mine). And just today, somehow I again opened that notebook. Memories flooded back and I thought of sharing it. And yeah, I did not blog 4 years back. 😛

Knowing the answers is fun, but being baffled by unknown was thrilling and awesome. When clouds made funny and scary faces. When stars watched me from heaven. When my village was the largest and best place on the planet….

Gone are the days as they should. But here is the complete poem-

====

When did my childhood go?
Was it the day I ceased to be eleven,
Was it the time I realised that Hell and Heaven,
Could not be found in Geography,
And therefore could not be,
Was that the day!

When did my childhood go?
Was it the time I realised that adults were not
all they seemed to be,
They talked of love and preached of love,
But did not act so lovingly,
Was that the day!

When did my childhood go?
Was it when I found my mind was really mine,
To use whichever way I choose,
Producing thoughts that were not those of other people,
But my own, and my alone,
Was that the day!

Where did my childhood go?
It went to some forgotten place,
That’s hidden in an infant’s face,
That’s all I know.

-Markus Natten

Natten Markus is a Norwaygian. He wrote this, when he turned 12 years old. This is obviously a translation. One can imagine how great it would be in his language

==============

One Response to “When did my childhood go?”

  1. slpmartin October 26, 2011 at 9:26 PM #

    Had not read this poem before so appreciated you posting it and your comments…many thanks.

Say Something...

