The world enough, and Time

18 Sep

I remember one of my first reactions after getting XL result was to finish the books on my wish list- “My name is Red” (Brilliant) and “Code to zero” (unfortunately). But one book was left- “The Time Traveler’s Wife” (particularly due its thickness :-). So, I had waited for at least a couple of months to read this book. I began the book in the much awaited term-break. And finished in three days (yeah, I had still got the hunger; even after a ton of books to read and assignments to write during the term).

So, about the book- it’s about time travel- a person, getting dislocated through time involuntarily. Now, this invites two treatments- Chaotic Butterfly effect, i.e. you step on a butterfly and future becomes upside down or Deterministic, i.e. no matter what you do, there is only one inevitable future and you cannot change it (and if you believe quantum theory, there are a zillion things existing simultaneously). BTW, the author chooses the deterministic approach- and as one can guess, this means pure pain. There is nothing worse than a future I cannot change. It’s against all hopes. So, there is a constant pain throughout the story. I don’t mind that (actually I kind of enjoy that :-). But the book is a little too long. I almost totally missed the track of dates so could not sequence the events (which could have been little more fun, I mean use of brain and anticipation- aah!).

So what I take out of book? This was worth reading- kind of slow which suited my mood. Philosophy, I had thought of, but it was nice to read and feel through characters. So, what next- this book has put “The Curios Case of Benjamin Button” on my wish list now.

3 Responses to “The world enough, and Time”

  1. Avinash September 19, 2011 at 4:03 PM #

    Thanks for the review shiv.. Added “My name is Red” and “The time traveler’s wife” to my to-read list goodreads 🙂

    Finally, I started the book “To kill a mockingbird” which you gave long back,, in halfway now,, liked it so far..

    -Avinash-

    • Shiv October 26, 2011 at 3:46 PM #

      haahaa… glad to know that you started “To kill a mocking bird”. Story is kind of slow- but very thought provoking.

  2. Anupam Karn September 20, 2011 at 5:47 AM #

    Yea, the novel is worth to read one time!

Say Something...

