Love in time

29 Sep

Before we began (T-6)

“Listen, why don’t you just ask her out?” she asked. “Can’t be a little persuading?”

“Oh, I can be. But that will be like pushing her to a decision.”

“So you mean this is not fare to do things attract partners? It’s in the primal nature dude!”

“I know, I do not question that.” He went defensive. “I just know that the pure push does not last. There has to be a certain amount of pull, for pushes to work, more actually, in my case.”

“What do you mean in your “case”?”

“Well, I can’t push a lot. I can’t go to the ends of the world for her. I mean I can if she needs me to, but I can’t if she wants me to.  I can die for her, but I can’t promise to live for her with the same zeal.”

“So you are never going to ask her out?”

He was more unsure, perhaps he wanted the conversation to just end. “I may. But she is so distracted now to even notice me.”

“That would mean never. She is always going to be distracted buddy. Wouldn’t it be better if instead of wondering “what ifs”, you just go and ask her?”

He chuckled “Actually I don’t have any problem with wondering. Imagination holds me quite fine.”

“I don’t know man, but you are too young. You think you can live on like that. But life changes and you are left wondering, even regretting in your memory lane.”

She spoke as if she was somewhere far away, somewhere searching for words. He stared her blankly; he really did not know what it meant.

Airport Romance (T-0)

Sipping her coffee in Airport lounge, she glanced at the status display of flights. There was still good eight minutes before boarding. Eight minutes- enough time for Sunlight to reach the Earth- she thought. For humans- Too little? Too much?

“Isn’t it strange that we were in same college, same class for four years, yet we never talked for even half an hour! I would have liked you.” She smiled.

“Marginal utility offf..” he began in his usual sarcastic academic tone, but snapped short. “People are rarely bad. And the chances of them being bad to you are even lesser. But we do not take time to know each other and rely instead on physical appearances and heresy. In the end, we have nothing, we have nobody. More scary part is, we are alone… on the inside.” He sighed. “Why are we in such a rush?”

Her coffee was barely touched. The Jet announcer was making final call for boarding. She would have to leave.

Say Something...

