Being Bored

6 Oct

“Speed at which you get bored is scary!” A dear friend remarked.

Guilty as charged. Few things in the world hold me well. But instead of this being an issue, I have found it handy in past.

Let me begin by saying “being bored is good”. If you are bored, you would like to change the state. Thus, boredom invites creativity, curiosity. It pushes you to try something new, do something awesome. I would even go as far as saying that our generation armed with their cat videos- does not get bored easily. And that’s bad. If you are not bored, if you have nothing to complain about; you have nothing to innovate or change! And so it has been for me over the past decade or so. I have been bored very frequently and I have picked up many new things.

So far so good… Let me come to the other side now. If I am bored very frequently, I am unlikely to really sweat about anything. So I will not like the challenges to escalate. I will get bored and get out. So when I should complain about being bored- I guess not before I have learnt the thing sufficiently.

Now coming to the third side- learning anything new is an effort. So if I choose to get bored, I should be ready to put in the effort. With time and with number of things in my head- learning something new will get increasingly difficult. Am I prepared for this?

Now let me add the final variable to my equation; the salary and the livelihood. Once I start getting paid to do something, the field is no longer fair. I need to adjust boredom cut-off for this job. And it goes against the other things that I could have picked up. Should I complain?

What if I have/need to settle down? Won’t I need to take this boredom with pinch of salt? Or can I start something new, somewhere new…

I need some answers (hoping that questions are correct)…

P.S. Every argument has three sides- mine, yours and the correct one.

One Response to “Being Bored”

  1. gyanendar October 11, 2013 at 4:08 PM #

    Getting bored attitude takes away patience. This could mean it will erode individuals chance to go to the depth. The reason of getting bored could be vary from ones real orientation is different from what is he pursuing to persons inability to do or understand the thing. But not getting bored doesn’t means that one will not strive for innovation.

Say Something...

